top of page
Search
  • jca1092

Prayers and the Burdens You Can't Bear


I want to begin by adding a YouTube link to the video that helped me to understand how burdensome prayer can be, if you're not careful! You see, several months ago, Abba directed me to intercede for the salvation of a particular soul. I saw the title of this video and thought, hmmm, maybe it'll be helpful...

The video is called "Heaven Land Devotions - The Quiet Power of Intercession"

Now, I have never had a "long term" sort of assignment like this, and I wasn't sure how to go about it. I read some books and went at it with great gusto! I set aside one hour every day to pray for this soul, and often went over that hour, sometimes it was 90 minutes or almost two hours! I was praying hard! I asked Abba to help me and to direct me and I took my assignment very seriously (still do!)

This has definitely been a learning experience. I've never really dedicated this amount of time, focus or energy before to praying for a particular person. However, when Jesus gives a specific instruction, you should follow it!

I had a few books I was using for specific things to pray, and since He was working with me in what I understood, then yes, He was directing me through the books. Over time, the prayer focus began changing. As Abba said, "We are peeling the layers of the onion, just to get this soul to a place where they can hear Me calling them."

As the days, then weeks, then months passed, it started wearing me down. The prayer focus changed again in November, and as the month went by, I began to feel the heavy weight on my neck and shoulders. That burden got heavier and heavier every day. In fact, when she mentions in the video looking in the mirror and being shocked at her own appearance, I thought, that's me! About three weeks ago, I was looking in the mirror and thinking, Abba! I look so tired and worn out! I have bags and dark circles under my eyes!

I watched the video late last Friday night and afterward, I started praying. "Abba? I thought You were directing me. I thought I was praying what You wanted me to pray, I was trying so hard to get it right! Have I been messing up all this time??" I was really distressed over the idea that I had wasted time with useless and tiresome prayers!

He is so kind and so gentle. He answered so sweetly, "I did direct you to pray, as you asked. I know you were working hard, and I was working with you where you were."

*I used to help youth and I told them to not worry about being perfect yet that He works with you where you are and helps you to improve.

He continued, "You prayed what you knew to pray, you prayed what you understood and in the way you thought you should. You have been so worried about "getting it right" (yes, I really saw the quotation marks!) and you needn't have been. I have honored your prayers and I have used them -your prayers are never wasted - but now, I want you to pray MY way. It won't be so tiring if you do it My way!

The enemy saw he could not stop you from praying, that you refused to quit, so he began to burden you. He knew if he could wear you down enough, you would eventually quit on your own, just out of exhaustion.

I don't want you to be so tired. I want you to enjoy your time praying." He told that when I followed His way, if I didn't hear Him saying anything in particular, then to use my prayer language.

Now, I am careful to check myself, and to ask for some kind of scripture to confirm that I am hearing Him correctly. This time, when I started to ask He answered, "Do you really think the enemy would tell you to use your prayer language when he can't understand it? Secondly, do you really think the enemy wants you to enjoy your prayer time?" I started laughing. No, I don't believe so!

As I knelt to pray, I saw Jesus standing in front of me, His arm held out, "Let me have your burdens, Julia."

I repented, because we are not meant to carry such burdens, and then I began casting the burdens upon Him, as He named them. In the spirit, I was removing yokes and putting them on His arm. I also saw His hand, and that I was filling it with rocks and bricks of all sizes.

There was one yoke in particular that was very difficult to remove. It was so heavy that I was actually straining in my flesh. Once I finally got it off, I felt about a thousand pounds lighter! Incidentally, my neck had been hurting for about two or three weeks and after I got rid of that yoke, the neck pain went away!

The next day, at my usual time that I set aside to pray for this individual, I asked Abba for guidance. He gently led me through, showing me scripture to pray and then having me to pray in the Spirit. It was so much easier and quieter and not stressful!

Since then, each day that I have spent in prayer for this person has been much easier. Abba's way of interceding is not tiresome, at all! Oh yes, there are still plenty of times that I weep for this soul, or get angry over what sin has done to this person's life, but I am not weighed down and stressed out.

I encourage you to ask Him if there are any burdens weighing you down. Give them to Him, He is so much stronger and able to bear the load. Are you praying for someone and you can't see any improvement? Ask for direction. He will guide you and help you. He loves you.

If you do not know Jesus personally, I encourage you to get to know Him. He is the best friend you'll ever have! He is kind and funny, and He has a great laugh. He has never once been harsh with me or slapped me down, even when I deserved it. He has patiently put up with my ignorance, my failures, my weaknesses, my anger, my fears and my outright stupidity. He always listens, even when I'm ranting. He patiently waits for me to finish and then softly says something that stops me in my tracks. When I repent, He forgives, easily.

He leads me with a gentle hand and is always ready with a hug when I need it. I've cried on His shoulder too many times to count. He hears me when I call and He never leaves me. Others will leave you, friends come and go, people you love will blow you off and break your heart. He never does.

If you're wondering how to get this sort of friendship, well it comes first with a belief that He does exist. You can ask Him to prove to you that He does exist. Once He does, the ball is in your court. Call on Him. Yes, it's going to require some lifestyle changes, but honestly, you couldn't pay me enough to go back to my old life.

If you're already a Christian and you're still wondering how to be friends with Him, then start by reading the bible. Beginning last July after I returned to Texas, I turned off the tv and began reading and praying every evening. I repented of everything I could think of to repent and I also got up an hour or two before work every day to pray and read. After a couple of dedicated months, I began feeling His presence constantly and hearing His voice all the time. He does reward diligence.

***NOTE: I am NOT saying you have to do things the way I did!

However, you do have to put in some effort. As with any friendship, if you value it and want to cultivate it, you have to put in some work. All friendships are two-way streets. When the other person sees that you value their time, their thoughts, their words and their presence, they will (or should) respond in kind. Seeking a friendship with the King is much the same, but really, what you get in return is far and away better than anything you could ever imagine!

Please seek Him. Give Him your burdens and pray as He directs. God bless you. It's about 3a.m. so I'm going to stop here.


Psalm 55:22

Romans 8:26-27

Romans 10:9

Hebrews 11:6


**the following are some of the scriptures I've been praying over this soul. I have modified to fit the situation, as Abba has directed and I have included some examples of the modifications.


Psalm 23

Psalm 91

Philippians 3:13

Isaiah 59:1

Romans 8:38-39

Ephesians 1:17-19; 3:17-19

2 Corinthians 6:2

example: "I pray over you _(name)__, to forget those things that are behind you and reach out to Him who is before you."

"It is written that the Lord's hand is not too short to save you, nor is His ear too heavy to hear you. Psalm 139 says that even if you make your bed in hell, He is still able to reach you. So, (name) you haven't done too much, or gone too far. It is written that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature shall be able to separate you from the love of God which is in Jesus Christ. I pray for (name) to call out to You, Jesus, because You will deliver (name). Now is the time, now is the day of salvation!"


One of the books I have is "Intercessory Prayer" by Dutch Sheets. It is a good book, very helpful in understanding intercession. Btw, it's not the author's fault I got so weighed down!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page